Founded in 1996, Vision International People Group pursues a coherent policy of corporate social responsibility meeting the inherent needs of society. This policy makes an integral part of the company's philosophy and its activities as a whole. While introducing its food supplements and health products to the world market, Vision International People Group vigorously promotes and supports healthy lifestyles and choices, and strives to maintain a constructive dialogue with state institutions and public organizations both in Russia and in other countries.

In 2004, the company President Mr. Dmitry Buryak launched the initiative for Vision International People Group to take the lead in an important social policy-related project called the "Russian National Population Quality of Life, Health and Nutrition Survey". The survey was carried out in collaboration with the Research Institute of Nutrition Russian Academy of Medical Sciences (Cooperation Agreement of August 6, 2004) and under the aegis of the World Health Organization. The survey found support and approval from the Ministry of Health and Social Development of the Russian Federation and the Russian Academy of Medical Sciences.

The survey was carried out as part of the Russian Longitudinal Monitoring Survey (RLMS) based on the nationally representative sample for the Russian Federation. The original sample amounted to more than 4,500 households in 158 cities and towns, urban and rural localities from 38 subjects of the Russian Federation. The survey was held in two waves: in October 2004 to January 2005, and followed in October 2005 to January 2006. The annual sample amounted to approximately 10,000 people aged 14 years and over.

The research into the quality of life in the population of Russia was done with the World Health Organization questionnaire – the WHOQOL-BREF. The research enabled the population-based objective assessment of the quality of life parameters in the adult population of Russia for the first time ever. The findings show age, gender and other socio-demographic, as well as regional differences in the quality of life parameters (see Maps 1.1-1.5). These findings are of particular academic and practical value in terms of developing the quality of life normative values for population groups in Russia.

Development of the ICF-based Health and Functioning questionnaire, which was designed to assess the health and functioning, and based on the World Health Organization's “International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health: ICF”, became an important part of the survey. The new questionnaire was developed to map the subjective evaluation of the quality of life (the WHOQOL-BREF questionnaire) onto the objective assessment of the health and functioning (the ICF-based Health and Functioning questionnaire). The administration of the measure has shown that it has a solid foundation in psychometrics (validity, reliability and sensitivity) and provides a methodologically robust instrument successfully used in clinical trials and population surveys (see Maps 2.1-2.9).

The food frequency method was used to research into the Russian national diet and nutrition, and track regional patterns and trends of food consumption across the country. The findings were further reported as food pyramids for each different region and analysed through comparisons of the regional food pyramids with the WHO recommended food guide pyramid (see Figure 1.1, Maps 3.1-3.4).

С момента своего основания в 1996 году компания Vision International People Group последовательно проводит политику социальной ответственности бизнеса, которая является неотъемлемой частью деятельности Компании, связана с философией Компании и отвечает ожиданиям общества. Предлагая на мировом рынке биологически активные добавки к пище и товары для здоровья, компания Vision International People Group активно пропагандирует здоровье и здоровый образ жизни, ведет конструктивный диалог с государственными институтами и общественными организациями как российскими, так и международными.

В 2004 г. по инициативе Президента Компании Г-на Дмитрия Буряка Vision International People Group выступила организатором социально значимого проекта «Исследование качества жизни, здоровья и питания населения России». Исследования проводились в сотрудничестве с ФГБНУ «НИИ питания» (Соглашение о сотрудничестве от 06 августа 2004 г.) под эгидой Всемирной организации здравоохранения. Проведение исследований было одобрено в Министерстве здравоохранения и социального развития РФ и в Российской академии медицинских наук.

Исследования были выполнены на базе Российского мониторинга экономического положения и здоровья населения (РМЭЗ) на общероссийской репрезентативной выборке. Исходная выборка составляла свыше 4500 домохозяйств, расположенных в 158 городах, поселках городского типа и сельских населённых пунктах в 38 субъектах Российской Федерации. Опросы проводились дважды в период с октября 2004 г. по январь 2005 г. и с октября 2005 г. по январь 2006 г. Ежегодная выборка составляла около 10 тыс. человек в возрасте старше 14 лет.

Изучение качества жизни населения России проводилось с использованием вопросника Всемирной организации здравоохранения WHOQOL-BREF. В результате проведенных исследований впервые на популяционном уровне дана объективная оценка параметров качества жизни взрослого населения России. Установлены возрастные, половые и другие социально-демографические, а также региональные различия этих параметров (карты 1.1-1.5). Полученные данные представляют большой научный и практический интерес с точки зрения разработки российских нормативных показателей качества жизни для различных групп населения.

Важным направлением исследования была разработка вопросника для оценки функционирования и здоровья ICF-based Health and Functioning на основе официального документа Всемирной организации здравоохранения International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health: ICF. Цель создания нового вопросника – дополнить субъективную оценку качества жизни (вопросник WHOQOL-BREF) объективным описанием состояния здоровья и функционирования (вопросник ICF-based Health and Functioning). Вопросник продемонстрировал хорошие психометрические свойства (валидность, надежность, чувствительность), является методологически устойчивым инструментом и успешно используется в клинических и популяционных исследованиях (карты 2.1-2.9).

Изучение фактического питания населения России, в том числе выявление региональных особенностей питания, проводилось методом анализа частоты потребления пищевых продуктов. На основании полученных результатов были построены региональные «пирамиды питания» и проведен их анализ в сравнении с «пирамидой здорового питания», рекомендуемой ВОЗ (рис. 1.1, карты 3.1-3.4).